Cookie Preferences

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and analyse site usage. Read our Privacy Policy.

Best Of GuideUpdated September 2026 · DFI, King Koil, Respa & more

Best Irish-Made MattressesIreland (2026)

Mattresses built in a factory on this island, and still on sale here. Two DFI beds we've reviewed. The rest we haven't slept on yet.

Factory on the island
Buyable in Ireland
Reviewed beds marked as such
3+ years of independent testing for Irish consumersHow we testMeet the team

Shop floors in Ireland mix three different claims. Irish-owned. Designed in Dublin. Actually made here. This page uses the third one. The mattress has to be built in a factory on the island — Republic or Northern Ireland — and you have to be able to buy it now.

We've reviewed two of them. The DFI Gelflex 3000 (overall 4.6) and the DFI Sanctuary (overall 4.2), both handmade in County Tyrone. King Koil, Kaymed, Odearest, Respa, Natural Sleep, Briody and Swan Beds name a factory on the island. We haven't slept on those yet. The Sleep Shop says its mattresses are made here, and doesn't name the town.

Affiliate Disclosure: We may earn a commission when you purchase through links on this page. This doesn't affect our picks or editorial independence.

What "Irish-made" means on this page

The factory address, a shop you can actually buy from, and an honest line on whether we've slept on it.

A mattress in an Irish bedroom — this roundup only lists beds built in a factory on the island
Irish sizes are a separate question. This list is about where the mattress is built.

A factory on the island

Irish-made here means the mattress is built in Ireland. County Tyrone counts, same as Kildare, Meath, Limerick or Cork. A brand that designs the bed in Dublin and never names a factory does not make this list.

On sale in Ireland now

We checked a live page before naming a model — the maker's site, or a retailer such as DFI, Meubles or the factory shop. If we couldn't find it for sale, it isn't a pick.

A score only after we've reviewed it

Gelflex 3000 is 4.6 and Sanctuary is 4.2 because those reviews are already on this site. The other cards are construction, feel as the maker describes it, trial, warranty and the price we saw. No score until we've slept on the bed.

One group, three shop names

King Koil Ireland, Kaymed and Odearest are made by the Kaymed group, in Kildare and Dublin. They're separate cards because the beds are different. Respa and Briody are both in Oldcastle, Co. Meath, and they are different companies.

Designed here is a different shopping trip

The Spinery is designed in Dublin, sold from a showroom in Dún Laoghaire, and offers a 100-night trial. Their own pages say “designed in Ireland”. They don't publish an Irish factory, so the Spinery stays on the orthopaedic guide.

Autumn Blu is an Irish company with a warehouse in Cavan. They say the beds are developed in-house. They don't name a factory. Our reviews of the Blu mattresses stay on those pages. They are not ranked here. Emma's boxed hybrids aren't made here either — that comparison is Emma vs DFI.

Our 2026 Irish-made mattress picks

Ranked from the two we've reviewed, then the factories we could name and still buy. Seven models, then three more Irish-made beds where the public spec is thinner.

1. Reviewed · 4.6

Handmade in Coalisland, County Tyrone

DFI Gelflex 3000

We've reviewed this one. The score is from that write-up.

DFI's gel hybrid. 3000 springs under a G5 Comfort Gel layer, medium, and the highest score we have on an Irish-made mattress.

Why it's here

  • Overall 4.6 on our review — comfort 4.7, support 4.5, cooling 4.6
  • ActiMax plus ZeroG micro springs, with G5 Comfort Gel
  • 10-year warranty on the review. DFI delivers on its own fleet

Best for

  • Side sleepers who still want a spring bed
  • Anyone who wants a scored Irish-made hybrid
  • Couples who want less roll-together than an open coil

Not ideal for

  • A 200-night home trial
  • A very soft, sink-in foam bed

Specs

Firmness:
Medium (5–6/10)
Height:
About 30 cm
Materials:
Hybrid — 3000 pocket springs + G5 gel
Trial:
No sleep trial
Warranty:
10 years
Price:
Double €539 on our review
2. Reviewed · 4.2

Handmade in Coalisland, County Tyrone

DFI Sanctuary

We've reviewed this one. The score is from the Sanctuary 1200 write-up.

The value pocket sprung from the same Tyrone factory. Turnable, so you get two sleep surfaces. DFI's live page is now the Sanctuary 1000 — check the spring count before you pay.

Why it's here

  • Overall 4.2 on our review — support 4.5, value 4.6
  • Turnable, hand-tufted pocket sprung. Double listed at €329 on the review
  • The live dfibeds.com listing is the Sanctuary 1000, and the Emma comparison notes a 3-year warranty on that page

Best for

  • A scored Irish-made bed under the hybrid money
  • Back sleepers who want a medium pocket sprung
  • People who will turn a mattress

Not ideal for

  • A home trial
  • Side sleepers who found the review too firm

Specs

Firmness:
Medium (5–6/10) on our review
Height:
About 25 cm on the review
Materials:
Pocket sprung, turnable
Trial:
No sleep trial
Warranty:
Confirm on the live Sanctuary 1000 page
Price:
Double €329 on our review
3. Not slept on

Made in Ireland by Kaymed — Kildare and Dublin plants; Kilcullen since 1982

King Koil Spinal Guard

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update this card when we have.

The firm Irish open-coil with Chirospan bands through the middle third, and the ICA endorsement King Koil has carried for years. Showrooms often list the same bed as Spinal Care Support.

Why it's here

  • kingkoil.ie: extra firm, open coil, Chirospan, about 27 cm (10.5 inches)
  • Meubles sells the ICA open-coil as Spinal Care Support, from €729, with a 10-year warranty (September 2026)
  • Foam, fibre and the finished mattress are made in Ireland, under the King Koil licence

Best for

  • Back sleepers who want a firm traditional coil
  • Buyers who want the ICA name on an Irish-made bed
  • A showroom try, then a made-to-order build

Not ideal for

  • A plush side-sleeper feel
  • A boxed mattress with a long home trial

Specs

Firmness:
Extra firm (King Koil)
Height:
About 27 cm on kingkoil.ie; 26 cm on the Meubles ICA listing
Materials:
Open coil, Chirospan, micro-quilted top
Trial:
No home trial — retailer returns
Warranty:
10 years on the Meubles ICA listing
Price:
From €729 at Meubles
4. Not slept on

Made in Ireland — Kaymed, Kildare and Dublin

Kaymed Regulatex Latex 2000

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update this card when we have.

Kaymed's own-brand hybrid. A natural latex layer with graphite, over pocket springs, sold as a medium that lets heat move off the surface. This is the maker's name, not the King Koil badge.

Why it's here

  • Meubles: made in Ireland, 28 cm, medium, pocket springs plus graphite latex
  • Listed for front and side sleepers. Non-turn — rotate it
  • From €1,045 at Meubles when we checked (was €1,299)

Best for

  • Hot sleepers who want latex, made here
  • Side sleepers who don't want a brick-firm coil
  • A Kaymed bed rather than the King Koil licence range

Not ideal for

  • A published sleep-test score
  • A warranty figure — the Meubles page we read didn't print one

Specs

Firmness:
Medium (Meubles)
Height:
28 cm
Materials:
Pocket springs + graphite natural latex
Trial:
No home trial advertised
Warranty:
Not stated on the Meubles listing — ask
Price:
From €1,045 at Meubles
5. Not slept on

Designed and made in Oldcastle, Co. Meath, since 1947

Respa Dual 1200

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update this card when we have.

Respa's current pocket range includes this medium-firm, double-sided bed. Turn it. The factory is still in Oldcastle, and the mattresses are sold through furniture shops rather than a single national web price.

Why it's here

  • Respa's site: medium-firm, double-sided, turn and rotate
  • RespaForm 1000 pocket springs, quilted knit, tape edge
  • Every Respa mattress is made on site in Oldcastle. Guaranteed Irish

Best for

  • A turnable pocket sprung from a Meath factory
  • Shoppers who can lie on one at a Respa stockist
  • Firmer-than-plush support without a gel top

Not ideal for

  • A single online price
  • People who won't turn a mattress

Specs

Firmness:
Medium-firm (Respa)
Height:
Not stated on the collection page
Materials:
RespaForm 1000 pocket springs, double-sided
Trial:
No home trial advertised
Warranty:
On the retailer ticket — confirm it
Price:
Retailer price, not on respabeds.ie
6. Not slept on

Handcrafted in Ballylanders, Co. Limerick

Natural Sleep Spinal Excellence

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update this card when we have.

A firm, two-sided pocket sprung from the family factory in Ballylanders. Natural Sleep has been making mattresses there since 1983, and Meubles lists this one as handcrafted in Ireland.

Why it's here

  • Meubles: firm, two-sided pocket sprung, edge support, foam layers, made in Ireland
  • From €599 at Meubles when we checked
  • Factory showroom in Ballylanders, plus a Dublin showroom

Best for

  • A firm orthopaedic-style pocket you can flip
  • Anyone who can visit Limerick or the Dublin showroom
  • Buyers who want the factory in the Republic, not a licence brand

Not ideal for

  • A soft side-sleeper mattress
  • A warranty we could read on the Meubles page

Specs

Firmness:
Firm (Meubles)
Height:
Not stated on the Meubles listing
Materials:
Pocket sprung, two-sided, edge support
Trial:
No home trial on the listing we read
Warranty:
Not on that Meubles page — ask in store
Price:
From €599 at Meubles
7. Not slept on

Made in Kilcullen, Co. Kildare — Odearest is part of the Kaymed group

Odearest Kingfisher 1000

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update this card when we have.

The old Irish name, still hand-built in Kildare. This one is a 1000-pocket with a euro-top and a flex-edge frame. Odearest's site puts a 5-year or 8-year warranty on the collections; Kingfisher's exact term wasn't on the shop page.

Why it's here

  • Meubles: Irish-made, 1000 pocket springs, euro-top, flex-edge, 27 cm, non-turn
  • From €499 at Meubles when we checked
  • Odearest says the beds are produced in Kilcullen and carry 5 or 8 years depending on the collection

Best for

  • A pocket spring under €500 at the Meubles ticket
  • Shoppers who know the Odearest name and want it made in Kildare
  • A plusher top than the King Koil Spinal Guard

Not ideal for

  • A firm orthopaedic coil
  • Assuming the 8-year warranty without checking the collection

Specs

Firmness:
Not given a number on the Meubles page
Height:
27 cm
Materials:
1000 pocket springs, euro-top, flex-edge
Trial:
No home trial advertised
Warranty:
5 or 8 years by Odearest collection — confirm Kingfisher
Price:
From €499 at Meubles

Three more, with a thinner public spec

Same rule. Made in Ireland, and you can buy them. We haven't slept on these, and the pages don't give us enough to rank a single model against the seven above. The Sleep Shop says the beds are made here and doesn't name the factory town.

The Sleep Shop says made in Ireland — factory town not published. Showroom in Athlone

The Sleep Shop Latex Cloud

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update when we have.

Their delivery page says the mattresses are made in Ireland, made to order, about two to three weeks. The Latex Cloud is the dual-sided one: natural latex over pocket springs, latex side up or the firmer foam side up. You can try it at the Athlone showroom on the Dublin Road. We haven't slept on it yet, and they don't name the town the factory is in.

Latex Cloud at The Sleep Shop

Ballinrink, Oldcastle, Co. Meath

Briody Elite

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update when we have.

Briody makes its own pocket-spring unit in Ballinrink — not the Respa factory up the road. The Elite collection (1800, 2600, 3500) adds a micro-coil layer and a foam edge. Lawlor's stocks the 2600 and 3500. We haven't slept on one yet.

Briody Elite collection

Factory and shop, Vicars Road, Togher, Cork

Swan Beds

We haven't slept on this yet. We'll update when we have.

Swan designs and makes the mattresses in Togher, and you buy them from the shop attached to the factory. They've been at it for the best part of a century. The public range page doesn't pin a model to a firmness number, so the right move is to lie on them in Cork. We haven't slept on one yet.

Swan Beds mattresses

Who each one is for

Start with the job the mattress has to do. The two DFI rows are the ones we've reviewed.

If you wantStart withThe short version
A gel hybrid we've actually scoredDFI Gelflex 3000Overall 4.6. Medium. No trial. County Tyrone.
A cheaper turnable pocket we've scoredDFI SanctuaryOverall 4.2 on the Sanctuary 1200 review. Check the live Sanctuary 1000 page.
A firm open-coil with an ICA endorsementKing Koil Spinal GuardExtra firm, about 27 cm. We haven't slept on it.
An Irish latex hybrid that sleeps coolerKaymed Regulatex Latex 2000Graphite latex over pocket springs, 28 cm, medium. We haven't slept on it.
A traditional turnable pocket from MeathRespa Dual 1200Medium-firm, double-sided, made in Oldcastle. We haven't slept on it.
A firm two-sided bed from a Limerick factoryNatural Sleep Spinal ExcellenceHandcrafted in Ballylanders. We haven't slept on it.
A plainer pocket spring under an old Irish nameOdearest Kingfisher 1000Euro-top, 27 cm, made in Kilcullen. We haven't slept on it.
To lie on it in Cork, in the factory shopSwan Beds, TogherThey make the range out the back. Pick the model in the showroom.

Shops, not factories

Mattress Mick is a Dublin retailer. G Furniture in Galway is a retailer — it stocks King Koil, Odearest and Briody, and it does not make the mattress. Buy the bed from the factory brand, or from the shop, and judge the mattress by who built it.

If support is the whole brief

Firm Irish open-coil and the chiropractor-designed latex bed are compared on the orthopaedic guide. DFI against King Koil, including the trial gap, is on DFI vs King Koil. A bad back still needs a GP or a chartered physiotherapist. A mattress is support, not treatment.

Frequently Asked Questions

Factory, trial, and which of these we've actually reviewed.

Already compared two of these. DFI against the boxed Emma hybrids is on Emma vs DFI. DFI against the Kildare-made King Koil is on DFI vs King Koil. Firmness by how you lie is on the firmness guide.

How we put this list together

We started from the Irish factories we could verify, then kept the models you can buy this year. The two DFI scores come from our published reviews. The other cards are the construction and the shop details, and a straight line that we haven't slept on that mattress yet.

  • Factory claim taken from the maker's own site (Kaymed, King Koil, Respa, Odearest, DFI, Natural Sleep, Briody, Swan Beds)
  • A live Irish shop page checked before a model was named — DFI direct, or a retailer such as Meubles
  • Sleep-test scores used only where we have already published a review (DFI Gelflex 3000 and DFI Sanctuary)
  • Prices quoted as what that page showed in September 2026, not as a fixed RRP
  • Trial and warranty are whatever the maker or the shop page stated. If it didn't, the card says to ask
  • Republic and Northern Ireland factories both count — the bed is built on the island

Prices move. The factory doesn't.

Sale tickets at Meubles and on dfibeds.com change. If a euro figure on this page and the shop page disagree, the shop page is the one to pay. Spring counts move too — DFI's live Sanctuary listing is the Sanctuary 1000, while our review is the Sanctuary 1200 write-up. Read both before you order.

How we score a mattress once it's in a bedroom is on how we test. Firmness by sleep position is on the firmness guide.